Jo Johnson – “Weaving”

a3414086336_10

For those who follow me on Twitter, chances are you’ve already heard me talking about this… “Weaving” is Jo Johnson’s debut album, and it has been released by Further Records. Considering it is her first major release, it is amazing what a fully formed and complete statement it is. The whole thing is perfectly measured and paced, there is an incredible beauty to the music, and it all combines to create this wonderful captivating feeling. The closest thing it reminds me of is Laurie Spiegel’s work – while it is straighter, it shares a similar kind of shimmering serenity. It is definitely too early to start putting together ‘best of’ lists, but I would be very surprised if this is not right near the top of my favourite albums for 2014. This comes with my absolutely highest recommendation. Check it:

Comments are closed.